Who were the 2019 Republic Day honorees?

DOI - Clifton Fenech

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

A number of individuals were honoured during the 2019 Republic Day celebrations.

In a statement, the Cabinet Office said that on Republic Day each year, the President, on behalf of the government and people of Malta, pays public tribute to a number of Maltese citizens who distinguish themselves in different fields of endeavour, by appointing them to The National Order of Merit or the Xirka ġieħ ir-Repubblika, or by awarding them the Midalja għall-Qlubija or the Midalja għall-Qadi tar-Repubblika.

Nationals of other countries may be conferred with honorary membership of the Order or the Xirka or awarded the Midalja għall-Qadi tar-Repubblika on an honorary basis.

This year’s Investiture Ceremony again took place at The Palace, Valletta, immediately following the customary Ceremonial Parade held at the Palace Square.

During the ceremony, five members were appointed to The National Order of Merit, two of whom received the award on an honorary basis and one of the latter was awarded posthumously. Eleven other individuals were awarded the Midalja għall-Qadi tar-Repubblika. Three of them were awarded the medal on an honorary basis and two posthumously.

For a full list of honorees you may click on the link below: