Who hasn’t supported Fearne’s leadership bid yet?

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Many have taken to Facebook to express their support to Deputy Prime Minister and Partit Laburista deputy leader Chris Fearne in his leadership bid. Among, these one finds a majority of MPs who were elected on Partit Laburista’s ticket.

Transport Minister Ian Borg, Justice Minister Owen Bonnici, Equality Minister Edward Zammit Lewis, Minister for Gozo Justyne Caruana, Environment Minister José Herrera, Social Solidarity Minister Michael Falzon, Energy Minister Joe Mizzi and Foreign Affairs Minister Carmelo Abela have declared their support publicly.

Along with Ministers, one finds also Parliamentary Secretaries and backbenchers. These are Clint Camilleri, Julia Farrugia Portelli, Silvio Parnis, Deo Debattista, Aaron Farrugia, Silvio Schembri, Konrad Mizzi, Rosianne Cutajar, Anton Refalo, Glenn Bedingfield, Silvio Grixti, Byron Camilleri and Stefan Zrinzo Azzopardi.

Those who have not publicly endorsed Fearne’s leadership bid:

Almost 24 hours after Chris Fearne posted a status on Facebook saying that he will be running for leader, a number of ministers still have not endorsed Fearne’s bid publicly.

The list includes:

Economy Minister and Labour deputy leader Chris Cardona

Finance Minister Edward Scicluna

Home Affairs Minister Michael Farrugia

Education Minister Evarist Bartolo

Parliamentary Secretary for Active Ageing Anthony Agius Decelis

Parliamentary Secretary for Social Accommodation Roderick Galdes.

One also finds MPs Alex Muscat and Robert Abela, the latter declared that he would not be part of a devilish pact. Newsbook.com.mt caught with Abela as soon as he was leaving the Ministry of Health, asking him what he meant. Abela said that he would make more declarations at a later stage.

None of Partit Laburista MEPs have endorsed Fearne’s bid until the time of writing.