Vote counting starts for Local Council Elections

Miguela Xuereb

From 2PM, the process of sorting and counting the votes in the Local Council elections, will take place.

Counting will split the 23 localities across Malta and Gozo, into three groups of localities; the first taking place today with the second and third set for Thursday and Friday.

Today, the votes will be counted in the following localities; Birżebbuġa, Ghajnsielem, Dingli, Balzan, Tarxien, Zebbug, Valletta, Fontana, Marsa, Mellieha, Qrendi , Nadur, Xewkija, Zejtun, Zurrieq, Ghasri, Iklin, Mqabba, Pembroke, St Julian’s, St Paul’s Bay, Santa Venera, and Ta ‘Xbiex.

From 5 pm the counting process is expected to begin.

So who led the local councils in the previous legislature?

Birżebbuġa PL

Ghajnsielem PN

Dingli PL

Balzan PN

Tarxien PL

Zebbug PL

Valletta PN


Marsa PL

Mellieha PL

Qrendi PL

Nadur PN

Xewkija PL

Zejtun PL

Zurrieq PL

Ghasri PN

Iklin PN

Mqabba PL

Pembroke PL

St. Julian PN

St. Paul’s Bay PL

Venera PL

Ta ‘Xbiex PL

Voters in the local council elections were also selecting their European Parliamentary representatives last week.  The Labour Party managed to elect 4 candidates to the European Parliament, the returning Miriam Dalli and Alfred Sant of the previous legislature and two new candidates, Josianne Cutajar and Alex Agius Saliba.

The Nationalist Party managed to return Roberta Metsola and David Casa.  In terms of vote share, the PL managed to achieve 54.29% of the votes while the PN scored 37.90%.