UK quarantine rules end for travellers from more than 70 countries

FILE PHOTO: A member of aircrew is seen wearing a protective face mask at Heathrow Airport, as Britain launches its 14-day quarantine for international arrivals, following the outbreak of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), London, Britain, June 8, 2020. REUTERS/Toby Melville -/File Photo

Quarantine rules end today for people travelling to the UK from more than 70 countries and British Overseas Territories.

People will no longer have to isolate for 14 days or provide an address where they are staying.

The rules covered people arriving by air, sea or train, and also included UK nationals.

But now travellers arriving into England, Wales and Northern Ireland from 58 countries and 14 British Overseas Territories deemed low risk are exempted.

The full list includes many popular European holiday destinations such as France, Croatia and Spain.

Countries not on the list include the US, Canada, Portugal, Sweden, Mexico, Brazil, Russia, Iran, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and China.

The original list of countries to which quarantine rules no longer apply had included Serbia but the country has now been removed, the Foreign Office announce in a tweet just after midnight.