Tunisia, Czechia added to Malta’s ‘amber list’

List now includes four countries and three Spanish cities

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

The “amber list” of countries from which visitors are asked to produce a negative swab test for Covid-19 now comprises four countries and a small portion of a fifth after the government agreed to update it today.

In a joint statement, the Health Ministry and the Tourism Ministry confirm that visitors hailing from Tunisia or Czechia will be subject to the requirement as from midnight on Friday.

No other areas have been removed from the list, which also includes Bulgaria, Romania and the Spanish cities of Madrid, Barcelona and Girona. National Statistics Office tourism figures show that Spain is the only leading tourist market on the list; the proportion of people hailing from the other destinations is low.

Passengers who fail to produce the swab test may be tested on arrival at the Malta International Airport, and may also be asked to go on quarantine.