Travel ‘amber list’ significantly expanded

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

The health authorities have announced that the Covid-19 “amber list” – the list of destinations from which travellers are required to submit a negative Covid-19 test on arrival – is being significantly expanded as from Friday.

The new revisions include numerous Italian airports – all airports in Milan and Rome, as well as Bologna, Naples, Perugia, Pescara, Pisa, Trieste, Turin and Venice – as well as the entirety of Germany and Luxembourg.  While the present list only covered a handful of cities in France, Spain and Poland, the new list will include travellers hailing from all parts of the country.

They also add three new UK cities – Birmingham, Edinburgh and Nottingham – with London remaining out of the list.

The amber list has been created through the Mandatory Tests for Certain Travelers Regulations, 2020, with all travellers hailing from places included in the list required to present a negative PCR COVID-19 test performed no longer than seventy-two (72) hours before arrival in Malta.

Those who failed to do so “may be submitted to testing in Malta and may be subject to quarantine.”

The revised list of countries is as follows (unless otherwise indicated, the country is included in its entirety):

Revised List of Countries

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy (Milan and Rome all airports, and Bologna, Naples, Perugia, Pescara, Pisa, Trieste, Turin, Venice)
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal (Porto)
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • The United Kingdom (Belfast, Birmingham, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham)