Travel allowed from 28 more countries as from 15 July

Miguela Xuereb

Malta will be open for travel to and from 28 additional countries – including the UK – on the strength of a new legal notice amending the travel ban imposed at the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Travel was first allowed from 22 European countries – 19 EU members, as well as Iceland, Norway and Switzerland – as from 1 July. The legal notice, however, specifically excluded the Italian regions of Emilia-Romagna, Lombardia and Piemonte, the French region of Île-de-France and the Spanish regions of Madrid, Catalonia, Castilla-La Mancha and Castille-Leon, whilst allowing travel from the remaining regions of the three countries.

The new legal notice allows travel from the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • China
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • the Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • the United Arab Emirates
  • the United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

Consequently, travel is now allowed from all EU member states but one – Sweden – though the ban on travel from the aforementioned regions in France, Italy and Spain persists.