Spain to open borders to EU Schengen countries on June 21

People wearing protective face masks walk past a banner amid the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak, in Madrid, Spain May 26, 2020. REUTERS/Sergio Perez

Spain will open its borders to countries in the European Union’s Schengen area on June 21, except for Portugal where the border will open on July 1 as previously announced, Spanish media including El Pais newspaper and Ser radio station reported.

The Spanish government had previously said it would allow foreign tourists to enter Spain on July 1 without self-quarantining, apart from the Balearic Islands which could start receiving tourists on Monday as part of a test programme.