Parliamentary committee on Gozo affairs to be set up


A parliamentary committee dealing with Gozitan affairs is to be set up after a motion presented by the opposition was unanimously approved this evening.

The motion had been presented last October by the Nationalist Party’s Gozitan MPs – Chris Said, Frederick Azzopardi, Kevin Cutajar and Marthese Portelli, who resigned from Parliament last month – and Opposition whip Robert Cutajar.

The committee, whose official name is the Standing Committee on Gozo Affairs, shall consist of five MPs – three government MPs and two opposition ones.

In line with the motion, its task would be to discuss Gozitan affairs and to evaluate and analyse any legislation that concerns or impacts the island.