More countries and airports added to Malta’s Amber List

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Malta has revised its list of corridor countries, from which passengers must produce a negative swab test result from no longer than 72 hours before their arrival in Malta.

The Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Health Minister announced that the notice will come into affect as from Friday 23 October at midnight.

The revised list includes:

  • Austria
  • Belgium (all airports)
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • France (all Paris airports, Marseille)
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands (all airports)
  • Poland (Gdansk, Krakow)
  • Portugal (Porto)
  • Spain (Madrid, Barcelona and Girona airport)
  • Switzerland (all airports)
  • Tunisia
  • United Kingdom (Belfast, Cardiff, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle)

Any person arriving in Malta from any of the countries listed above is required to present a negative PCR coronavirus test performed no later than 72 hours before arrival in Malta. Travelers arriving in Malta from any of the said countries who fail to produce such a test may be submitted to testing in Malta and may be subject to quarantine.

On Wednesday, the health authorities reported 155 new coronavirus cases after 2,823 swab tests were carried out in the previous 24 hours. The number of active cases stands at 1,649.

The 47th coronavirus-related death was also reported on Wednesday after a 68-year-old man died after having tested positive in September.

Meanwhile the Netherlands has added Malta on its list requiring travelers from the islands to self-quarantine upon arrival.

If you want to be the first to receive the latest news on the coronavirus in Malta, download the Newsbook APP here.