Maltese drivers to compete in Time Attack Championship in Sicily

From Friday 17th to Sunday 19th May, 28 Maltese racing drivers will be competing in another round of the Time Attack Championship in Racalmuto in the limits of Agrigento in Sicily.

These include Nicky Xerxen currently track record holder for the touring car class with his Mitsubishi EVO, Daniel Montebello current champion for the Pro 4WD class with his Mitsubishi EVO, Lawrence Grixti with a Mazda RX7, Joe Zammit on a Lotus Elise, Edward Calleja, Gilmour Degiorgio, Tony Bonello on Honda Civic and Ian Fenech on a Ford Sierra Cosworth.

There will also be other drivers racing formulas and sports cars such as James Dunford on a Honda-powered Norma, Roderick Vella and Dominic Zammit on a Radical PR6 Suzuki, Kenneth Micallef on a Honda Dallara and Emanuel Bajada on a Formula Kawasaki.

The Racalmuto circuit is 2530 metres long and is fast getting more popular with Maltese racing drivers. In fact, another record number of Maltese drivers will return to Racalmuto between the 7th and the 10th of June for the Historic Car Festival – an event organised purposely for classic cars.