Malta added to Germany’s Covid-19 red list

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Malta was added to Germany’s list of high coronavirus risk regions on Friday.

The German Ministry of Foreign Affairs has updated its list of high-risk regions to its regions from 15 EU and Schengen Area Member States, including the entire territory of Malta, the Netherlands and continental France. This was based on the recommendation by the Robert Koch Institute, a federal government agency and research institute responsible for disease control and prevention. The list is updated on a weekly basis with territories categorized as high-risk areas.

Anyone arriving from a high risk territory would need to present a negative swab test which is not older than 48 hours. Alternatively, many airports offer on arrival free testing facilities. Travellers must go directly to their destination and remain in quarantine for a period of two weeks. They must also inform their public health office immediately. Passengers are also required to fill in passenger locator cards which are distributed on the plane, boat, bus or train when entering Germany from a risk area. These are then returned to the carrier.

During the quarantine period, one is not allowed leave their house or apartment, nor receive guests. The government warned that non-compliance with the quarantine rules can be very costly.

Malta has also made to the high risk lists of the Baltic states and Belgium.

On Friday, Prime Minister Robert Abela spoke in favour of the tourism industry saying that it was important for Malta’s economy when asked about travelling during the pandemic.

The number of new infections continue to surge with Malta registering 204 coronavirus cases on Saturday.

If you want to be the first to receive the latest news on the coronavirus in Malta, download the Newsbook APP here.