Malta added to England’s quarantine list

People coming to the UK from France and the Netherlands will be forced to quarantine for 14 days from Saturday. They are among several new countries added to the UK’s quarantine list.

British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said that the measure  will apply to people travelling from Monaco, Malta, Turks and Caicos, and Aruba and will kick in from 4am BST on Saturday.

The UK government’s decision follows a surge in cases in the countries affected in recent days.

He said that the decision to add France to the list came after the country reported a 66% increase in the number of positive tests in the last week alone. For the Netherlands, it was up 52%. And the increase for Malta was 105%, while it was 273% for Turks and Caicos and 1,106% for Aruba.

Various international media reports yesterday hinted that this decision was expected to be announced this week.

On Thursday, Denmark announced that it was banning all non-essential travel to Malta, while Norway will be imposing quarantine on all those arriving from the Maltese islands in light the ongoing spike in Covid-19 cases in the country.

If you want to be the first to receive the latest news, download the Newsbook APP here.