Johnson wins to “get Brexit done”

Britain's Prime Minister Boris Johnson leaves Downing Street to head for the House of Commons as parliament discusses Brexit, sitting on a Saturday for the first time since the 1982 Falklands War, in London, Britain, October 19, 2019. REUTERS/Simon Dawson

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Following Thursday’s general election Boris Johnson’s Conservative Party was returned to government the biggest majority at Westminster since Margaret Thatcher’s 1987 electoral victory. The reaction of Prime Minister Johnson was immediate. This result will enable him “to get Brexit done” which was the main slogan and platform of the Conservative Party during this election campaign. England is now set to exit the EU in January 2020.

The BBC forecast suggests the Tories will get 364 MPs, Labour 203, the SNP 48, the Lib Dems 12, Plaid Cymru four, the Greens one, and the Brexit Party none. At the time of writing this commentary the forecast was for a Conservative majority of 78.

Labour down, SNP up

This means that the Conservatives increased their seats in Parliament by 47 while Labour decreased theirs by 59. Jeremy Corbyn, the Labour leader, described the result as very disappointing and said that he would not fight another election. Many commentators blamed the massive defeat on the Labour leader who was very unpopular.

The Scottish Nationalists (SNP) increased their seats by 13 thus strengthening their demand for another referendum seeking independence for Scotland, which if successful would signal the beginning of the end of the United Kingdom.

The Brexit party which during the last EU elections campaign netted the largest number of votes out of all parties had a disappointing night and elected no members to Westminster. They had earlier on decided not to contest the seats which were won by the Conservatives in the last election so as not no split the pro-Brexit vote. The gambit succeeded by at the expense of the Brexit party.

The Lib Democrats lost one seat while the DUP won two more than the last election. Jo Swinson – who only became Lib Dem leader in July and began the election campaign by saying she aimed to be prime minister – lost her Dunbartonshire East seat to the SNP by 149 votes. Nigel Dodds, the leader of the Democratic Unionist Party at Westminster, lost his Belfast North seat to Sinn Fein.