Helena Dalli will be responsible for the EC Equality portfolio

Credit: Luke Zerafa

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Helena Dalli will be in charge of the Equality portfolio of the European Commission (EC). This was announced earlier on Tuesday by EC President-elect Ursula von der Leyen, whilst she presented her team and the new structure of the EC.

President-elect von der Leyen wants to preside over a College that is committed, that understands Europe and that listens to what Europeans want.

Furthermore, the goal of the new Commission is to make life easier for people and businesses. When the Commission creates new laws and regulations, it will apply the ‘One-in, one-out’ principle to cut red tape.

The new College of Commissioners:

Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) will coordinate the work on the European Green Deal. He will also manage climate action policy, supported by the Directorate-General for Climate Action.

Executive Vice-President Margrethe Vestager (Denmark) will coordinate the agenda on a Europe fit for the digital age and be the Commissioner for Competition, supported by the Directorate-General for Competition.

Executive Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia) will coordinate the work on an Economy that Works for People and be the Commissioner for financial services, supported by the Directorate-General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union.

Vice-President Josep Borrell (Spain) High Representative;

Vice-President Věra Jourová (Czech Republic) will be in charge of Values and Transparency;

Vice-President Margaritis Schinas (Greece), will be spearheading the Protecting our European Way of Life portfolio;

Vice- President Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia) will head the Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight portfolio;

Vice- President Dubravka Šuica (Croatia)will be in charge of Democracy and Demography, amd will also lead the EC side on the work on the Conference on the Future of Europe;

Johannes Hahn (Austria) will be in charge of ‘Budget and Administration’, and will report directly to Commission President Ursula von der Leyen;

Didier Reynders (Belgium) will be responsible for the Justice portfolio;

Mariya Gabriel (Bulgaria) gets the Innovation and Youth portfolio;

Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus) will lead the Health portfolio;

Kadri Simson (Estonia) will be in charge of the Energy portfolio;

Jutta Urpilainen (Finland) will take over responsibility for International Partnerships;

Sylvie Goulard (France), will lead work on the Internal Market portfolio and be responsible for the new Directorate-General for Defence Industry and Space;

László Trócsányi (Hungary) will lead the Neighbourhood and Enlargement portfolio;

Phil Hogan (Ireland) is taking over the Trade portfolio;

Paolo Gentiloni (Italy) had been entrusted with the Economy portfolio;

Virginijus Sinkevičius (Lithuania) will be in charge of the Environment and Oceans portfolio;

Nicolas Schmit (Luxembourg) will now be responsible for the Jobs portfolio;

Helena Dalli (Malta) will lead the Equality portfolio;

Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland) will be in charge of the Agriculture portfolio;

Elisa Ferreira (Portugal) will lead the Cohesion and Reforms portfolio;

Rovana Plumb (Romania) received the Transport portfolio;

Janez Lenarčič (Slovenia) will be in charge of the Crisis Management portfolio;

Ylva Johansson (Sweden) will lead the Home Affairs portfolio.