Govt appoints new Justice Commissioners

Photo by: Unsplash

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Sandra Sladden and Marouska Debono are the newly appointed Commissioners for Justice and government renewed the contract of Ian Spiteri Bailey, Matthew Brincat, Dr Roberta Fenech Gauci, Mario Scerri and Lynn Zahra as Justice Commissioners.

This was announced by the Ministry for Justice, which, a few days ago, has also appointed Deborah Farrugia and Martha Mifsud as Justice Commissioners.

As from January the number of Justice Commissioners was 17 and is now of 21.

Their duty is to listen, examine and judge the cases presented by the Police, by local councils or by any other competent authority according to the Commissioners for Justice Act.

The Ministry for Justice said that the aim to increase the number of Commissioners is to make the judicial system in Malta more efficient since with the implementation of the Commissioners for Justice Act certain court cases are being held in front of the regional tribunal chaired by the Commissioners for Justice.