Four Maltese MEPs chosen for EP committees

On Friday, the names of the MEPs who will sit on the new committees established in June were announced, four of whom are Maltese representatives. The committees will be focusing on taxation, artificial intelligence, foreign interference, cancer and animal transportation.

Maltese MEP Miriam Dalli (S&D) will sit on the Special Committee on Beating Cancer as a full member.  MEP Roberta Metsola (EPP) will be a substitute member on the Special Committee on Artificial Intelligence in a Digital Age, as will MEP Alex Agius Saliba (S&D). MEP Alfred Sant (S&D) will be a substitute member on the Subcommittee on Tax Matters.

The members of these committees are chosen by the political groups, which communicate their selection to the Parliament’s President. Each political group is allocated a number of seats in proportion to the number of MEPs it accounts for in the whole of the EP.

The chairs and vice-chairs of each committee will be decided at the constitutive meetings in September. Each special committee is composed of 33 members, whereas the subcommittee and committee of inquiry have 30 members each.

According to Parliament’s rules of procedures, the term of office of a special committee may not exceed twelve months, a committee of inquiry’s term of office is also twelve months, and the term of office of a subcommittee is open-ended.