Former Police Commissioner, maritime consultant appointed to Independent Police Complaints Board

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Judge Franco Depasquale has been re-appointed chairperson of the Independent Police Complaints Board. The notice was published in the Government Gazette on Friday.

The board is also composed of former Police Commissioner Michael Cassar and former AFM officer and maritime consultant Reuben Lanfranco.

Lanfranco was one of the 14 applicants seeking to replace disgraced former Police Commissioner Lawrence Cutajar when the method of appoint the head of the Police Force were changed to include a public call.

John Spiteri was appointed as board secretary.

All three will serve until 31 December 2022.

The composition of the board is regulated the Malta Police Act (Chapter 164 of the Laws of Malta) and for which it provides under section 35 of the same Act.

The three-member board is appointed by the President acting on the advice of the Home Affairs Minister.

Members shall hold office for the period of three years from 1 January of the year for which they are appointed and may be reappointed.

According to law, the board shall be chaired by a retired judge or magistrate. While none of the members can serve if they are still a public officer, or a member, officer or servant of any body corporate or established by law. No serving judge, magistrate, Member of Parliament or member of a local council can serve on the board while at the same time they are still in office.

The removal of members is also done by the President acting on the minister on the ground of inability to discharge the functions of his office whether arising from infirmity of mind or body or any other cause or for misbehavior.