Finalist draws for the BOV Tazza l-Kbira

The starting numbers for the finalists of the BOV Tazza l-Kbira were drawn by Edwin Borg, Chairman of the Malta Racing Club, and Charles Azzopardi, Executive PR and Marketing at Bank of Valletta.

The draws were done in the presence of the horse owners, who usually make the draw themselves, but due to the Covid-19 restrictions the procedure was amended in line with Health Authorities recommendations and respecting social distancing. In fact while Borg drew the horses’ names, Azzopardi drew the number with which each horse will be starting in the final scheduled for Sunday 11th October 2020.

This year, the BOV Tazza L-Kbira, the most prestigious race in Malta’s trotting calendar,  is being held during the second part of the racing season, since racing was suspended due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Nevertheless the amount of interest by horse owners was extraordinary, with a record number of Premier Category horses being enlisted for this competition for which seven heats had to be held so that 28 horses qualified for the three semi finals raced last Sunday.

The fastest four horses from each of the three semi-finals qualified for the final. The second semi-final saw Vivaldi du Vivrot driven by young Anton Cassar obtain the best time ever in the Tazza l-Kbira with 1’13”7/km over 2640m. The fastest time registered during the actual final of the BOV Tazza l-Kbira was registered during the 2019 edition by Up and Go with a time of 1’14”5/km.

Bank of Valletta is a strong supporter of sporting initiatives in Malta and is proud to support the top race in Malta’s Trotting Calendar.

The starting numbers as drawn:

1 – Andante

2 – Glenn Boko

3 – Paparazzi

4 – Big Match

5 – Vanderlov

6 – R.G.’S Thunderbolt

7 – Vasco de Viette

8 –  Alf de Melandre

9 – Vichenko Chef

10 – Vivaldi du Vivrot

11 – Xceed G.T.

12 – Output Pressure

This content was supplied by Bank of Valletta