Dylan Cachia and Sarah Demicoli crowned Swimming Champions

Dylan Cachia and Sarah Demicoli were crowned champions once again as the Birkirkara St Joseph Open Water Swimming Championships drew to a close with the final race of the series.

Dylan Cachia, who has won this title three years in a row, expressed his satisfaction of having had a good open water season which saw him register some personal bests. Andre Camilleri placed second, coming in three minutes and 41 seconds away from Cachia in the general classification. Third overall was Andrew Sultana.

Sarah Demicoli has won the championship races since she started competing in them back in 2014 and she also registered a strong performance at the 10k race in the recently held European Junior Open Water Swimming Championships. Maya Schembri Rodgers and Leah Satariano completed the podium.

Birkirkara St Joseph Sports Club also announced that Festina Watches will be the main sponsors of this year’s edition of the (Malta)-Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competition 2018. The Race will also be supported by Leap Nutrition.

All swimmers who qualified for this event are to submit their applications to the Club by not later than Saturday 11th August. An obligatory meeting for swimmers will take place on Tuesday 21st August at 7.00pm at the Mosta Local Council.

For more information on the Festina Malta – Gozo – Malta and Festina Gozo – Malta swim please visit www.bkarastjoseph.com