Denmark bans Malta travel, Norway adds country to quarantine list

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Denmark has banned all non-essential travel to Malta, while Norway will be imposing quarantine on all those arriving from the Maltese islands in light the ongoing spike in Covid-19 cases in the country.

In both countries, the new provisions will apply as from 15 August.

In light of the development Danish travel company FolkeFerie, which runs the Mellieħa Holiday Centre popularly referred to as the Danish Village, has informed its clients that all upcoming holidays to Malta have had to be cancelled.

Malta is increasingly being considered as an unsafe destination in view of its Covid-19, with Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia requiring a 2-week quarantine on arrivals. Such a quarantine is recommended, though not mandated, in Belgium and the Netherlands.

All arrivals are to be tested in Italy, with some Italian regions imposing a quarantine over and above this requirement.

England is also set to add Malta to its quarantine list in the coming days, according to the Guardian.

If you want to be the first to receive the latest news, download the Newsbook APP here