Coronavirus: WHO updates list of countries affected

Photo by Kevin Grieve on Unsplash

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

The World Health Organisation, WHO, continued to update the list of countries where local transmission of coronavirus is occurring.

The full list of countries and regions include: 

Western Pacific Region:

China, including Hong Kong, Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Australia, Malaysia, Vietnam 

European Region:

Italy, France, Germany, Spain, The United Kingdom, Norway, Croatia, Netherlands, San Marino, Switzerland, Sweden, Finland, Greece, Denmark, Monaco

South East Asian Region:

Thailand, Indonesia

Eastern Mediterranean Region:

Iran, United Arab Emirates, Israel, Lebanon

Region of the Americas:

Canada, United States of America, Ecuador

African Region:


Maltese Health Authorities are advising people who are suffering from an acute respiratory tract infection with sudden onset of cough, fever and shortness of breath and who have returned from these countries within the last 14 days to call their doctor or the coronavirus helpline on 21324086.

They are also advised to refrain from visiting doctors’ clinics, pharmacies, health centres or the casualty department in the first instance. 

Health Authorities are also reminding the public to take the necessary precautions for the prevention of respiratory infections.

During a press conference on Tuesday, the Superintendent for Public Health, Profs Charmaine Gauci said that the number of people tested for coronavirus in Malta has reached 56. However, all swab tests had come back negative.