Bishop Mario Grech appointed as General Secretary of the Synod of Bishops

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Pope Francis has appointed Bishop Emeritus of the Diocese of Gozo in Malta as the General Secretary of the Synod of Bishops after the Pope accepted the resignation of Cardinal Baldisseri.

The new was announced today during the Holy See Press Office bulettin.

The General Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops is tasked with the implementation of the preceding Synodal Assembly and preparation for the following one.

The General Secretariat is a permanent institution at the service of the Synod of Bishops, directly subject to the Pope. It consists of the General Secretary, the Undersecretary, who assists the General Secretary, the Ordinary Council, and also, ithe Councils.

In October last year, Pope Francis appointed Bishop Grech as Pro-Secretary General of the Synod of Bishops.

The Vatican said that since his appointment as Pro-Secretary General, Bishop Grech has worked side by side with Cardinal Lorenzo Baldisseri. In this way, he has been gaining knowledge of the Synod of Bishop, how it functions, acquiring an understanding of processes its competencies.

In that role, he participated in the Special Assembly of the Synod of Bishops for the Amazon in October 2019. This synodal experience of having “walked side by side” with his predecessor has thus assured continuity within the General Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops.

Bishop Emeritus Mario Grech expressed his gratitude and admiration towards his predecessor, Cardinal Baldisseri and has also expressed his wish to continue working on his footsteps.

In the meantime Gozo Bishop Anton Teuma together with the Archpriests and Chaplins in Gozo have already congratulated Bishop Grech for his new role.

In July 2020, Pope Francis has also appointed Bishop Mario Grech on the Pontifical Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity.

Bishop Grech was appointed member together with Cardinal Joseph William Tobin, Archbishop of Newark, Mgr. Paulo Cezar Costa, Bishop of San Carlos, Mgr. Paul Rauhana, Titular Bishop of Antardo and Auxiliary Bishop of Joubbé, Sarba and Jounieh dei Maroniti and Mgr. Richard Kuuia Baawobr, Bishop of Wa.

Mgr. Giacomo Morandi, Titular Bishop of Cerveteri and Secretary of the Congregation for the Doctrine of Faith, and Mgr. Giorgio Demetrio Gallaro, Archbishop Emeritus of Piana degli Albanesi and Secretary of the Congregation for the Oriental Churches, were appointed as Consulters.