Belgium bans Malta travel

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Yet another country – Belgium – has banned travel to Malta in the wake of a prolonged rise in Covid-19 cases.

Malta is now on the Belgian red list, along with Denmark, Finland and Lithuania as well as parts of Bulgaria, Romania, Spain and the UK.

Travellers to Malta were already required to quarantine on their return.

Just two weeks ago, Malta had been hoping host a number of large festivals attracting thousands of tourists.

But amid outcries, the events were ultimately banned – though the restrictions other countries have placed on travel to Malta would have likely put paid to plans in any case.

The festivals were primarily aimed at UK travellers, but England has just imposed a 14-day quarantine on all Malta arrivals.

If you want to be the first to receive the latest news on the coronavirus in Malta, download the Newsbook APP here.