Malta spared as UK adds 3 countries to quarantine list

FILE PHOTO: British tourists returning to UK, check in their luggage, as Britain imposed a two-week quarantine on all travellers arriving from Spain, following the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak, at Gran Canaria Airport, on the island of Gran Canaria, Spain July 25, 2020. REUTERS/Borja Suarez

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Travellers from Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas will be required to self-isolate at home or another specified address for 14 days on arrival in the UK from Saturday. Initial reports referred to the possibility of having Malta removed too. However visitors from Malta will not have to go into self-isolation.

The decision was announced via Twitter by the British transport secretary Grant Shapps, who said “Data shows we need to remove Andorra, Belgium and The Bahamas from our list of coronavirus Travel Corridors in order to keep infection rates down.”

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control has designated all Belgium as a “code orange” for the new coronavirus, meaning the number of cases per 100,000 inhabitants is 20 or above for two weeks.

Despite thousands of Britons holidaying overseas after months of lockdown, the government has already reimposed quarantine on arrivals from Spain and Luxembourg.

Britain’s inclusion of Belgium follows similar steps by Estonia, Ireland, Latvia and Norway. Belgium last month introduced new restrictions on social contact to try to contain the spread of the virus.