Airport to reopen; List of safe travel countries announced

Miguela Xuereb

Tista' taqra bil- Malti.

Prime Minister Robert Abela announced that the target date for the airport to be reopened is 1 July. Malta is set to open flights to 17 flights and two Italian islands.

Passengers traveling to and from these countries or territories will not be required to undergo a period of mandatory quarantine upon their return.

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Slovakia
  • Cyprus
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Luxembourg
  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Israel

Travel will also be allowed to Sicily and Sardinia.

The Malta International Airport has been closed since mid-March as the authorities sought to curb the number of imported coronavirus cases.

If you want to be the first to receive the latest news, download the Newsbook APP here.